Taste-The-Health Gluten-Free Bread. This Ain’t Your Mama’s Gut Bomb Bread.

IMG_0360

I straight up took this recipe from My New Roots.  Sara’s recipes are pretty amazing, and this bread is no exception.  I have made it a few times now and when I follow her exact instructions it turns out the best. There are certain things you can change of course.  The type of seeds, nuts, and choice of sweetener, but the proportions really should stay the same.  She calls this The Life Changing Loaf Of bread.  My life has been changed by ice cream, but not bread.

HOLD THE PHONE.  I wrote that last paragraph before sampling the bread I made this morning.  I don’t know if it’s the pumpkin seeds, or the fact that I couldn’t wait for the bread to cool, but something has changed…my life?  I don’t know, but warm and crispy out of the oven with melted grass-fed butter and sea salt.  Holy Moses, I. am. in. heaven.

IMG_0365

I’ve mentioned before the importance of soaking your nuts and seeds before consuming them.  The reason for this is because their skins contain enzyme inhibitors which block the absorbtion of valuable nutrients contained within them.  I know we eat because we like the taste of something, but we should also be eating for nourishment, and what a waste to skip out on such powerhouses of nutrition by forgetting to soak them.  The cool thing about this loaf is that after you mix the bread (which takes about 5 minutes) you soak.  Simply let it sit out on the counter for 2-8 hours before you bake and voila! You have soaked your nuts.  Yeah, I said that.

I made this recipe with sunflower seeds and ground flax.

IMG_9937

I made this recipe with pumpkin seeds and whole flax.

IMG_0324

Note:  Raw is the name of the game here, and also, you should keep your nuts and seeds in the freezer to keep them fresh.  They go rancid more quickly than you would think.

IMG_0328

This recipe is super duper simple.  Mix dry, then mix wet, then mix together.  Put in loaf pan and wait.

IMG_9942

Taste The Health Gluten-Free Bread (From My New Roots Blog)

1c PUMPKIN! seeds (or sunflower, or whatever you have on hand)

1/2c flax seeds

1/2c almonds (or other nut)

1 1/2c rolled oats

2 Tbsp. chia seeds

3 Tbsp. psyllium husk powder

1 tsp. fine grain sea salt

1 Tbsp. maple syrup

3 Tbsp. coconut oil, ghee, or butter

1 1/2c filtered water

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.  Mix maple syrup and melted oil in with the water and pour into dry ingredients.  Stir with a wooden spoon until the psyllium husk begins to bind the dough together, about 2 minutes.  Turn dough into preferred loaf pan (I use unbleached parchment in a standard loaf pan), smooth top, cover with towel and let sit out on the counter 2-8 hours.

Preheat oven to 350.  Bake 20 minutes on the middle rack.  Remove from oven, flip face down on the rack and continue baking another 30-40 minutes.  (I imagine a convection oven takes less time, but I just have a standard oven and bake mine the whole 40.)  Remove from oven and set on a wire rack to cool.

Slice, slather in grass-fed butter, and enjoy!

-Bee

8 thoughts on “Taste-The-Health Gluten-Free Bread. This Ain’t Your Mama’s Gut Bomb Bread.

    • It is SO good. It is easy to always want to replace normal bread with a grain free bread that is similar, but this particular bread has quenched that desire for at least a little while. I love it right out of the oven (maybe 5 minutes out:) with tons of grass-fed butter. Let me know if you make it, and how you like it!

  1. I was pretty pleased to discover this great site.

    I need to to thank you for your time just for
    this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you saved to fav
    to check out new things in your site.

Leave a comment