Sweet Potato Casserole For Your Baby (And You)!

IMG_9931

I’m not making mushes and feeding them to Dub.  I did for a minute, and certainly when I make applesauce or something requires the use of a spoon I will help Weston by dipping the spoon in it for him and then handing the spoon off to him.  For the most part though, we are letting him feed himself.  The result is messy and because he has yet to figure out the pincer grip (thumb and forefinger), not a lot of food is getting to his belly at this point.  That’s fine because we still nurse about 9 times in a 24 hour period.

I was on The Healthy Home Economist last night refreshing my memory of the Beet Kvass recipe from nourishing traditions (yes I have the book about 30 feet away in the kitchen; I’m not embarrassed), and I stumbled upon this recipe.  After putting Dub down for his first nap I decided to make it even though I didn’t have everything the recipe called for.  Sweet potatoes are pretty delightful alone, so I knew I couldn’t really mess them up by not having enough of this or that.  Did you know that in order to properly absorb nutrients you should pair your veggies with a fat?  Makes perfect sense.

This little dish is amazing!  So so good for you and so good for your baby!  Dub was fist pumping and kicking his legs and couldn’t wait for the next spoonful.  After feeding Dub and taking way too many bites myself (so much so that I can’t have my Cacao Breakfast Milkshake because I’m too full), I still filled a 5x5x2 storage container with the leftovers.

IMG_9934

Here’s how I made it.

Sweet Potato Casserole For Your Baby (and me)

*Almost exactly like the recipe from The Healthy Home Economist

2 medium sweet potatoes (difference between a sweet potato and a yam HERE)

1/4c grass-fed butter

1c coconut cream (I used what I had left over from making ice cream the other day, it was the Trader Joes brand)

1/4c cheese curds (note: the original recipe calls for raw soured cream, but since I had just made curds and whey from souring raw milk I had only curds on hand and used those.  Either would work and all are delicious!)

3 egg yolks (ideally from pastured hens)

1/2tsp cinnamon

1/2tsp nutmeg

1/4tsp sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bake sweet potatoes 60 minutes (start testing them around 50 minutes with a fork to make sure you don’t overdo them) or until tender.  Remove from oven, let cool, and peel while still warm.  I like to set them on my pizza stone because they seem to cook evenly and peel quite easily.

Take peeled sweet potatoes and mash in a bowl with butter and coconut cream.  Add in cheese curds (or soured cream), egg yolks, and spices and mix until thoroughly combined.  Transfer to a casserole dish and bake for 30 minutes.

Let cool.  This is an important step, and not easy to do when you are excited to see your baby’s reaction.  Serve up and enjoy!

IMG_9936

Leave a Reply

