Easy Amazing Pancakes. Bread Variations. Babies. Continuous Lotion Endorsement.

pancakes_7

Let’s start with pancakes.  Know why I love them?  They are easy, always delicious, and a winner in the land of toddler picky-eater drama.  Sure, they are bread.  But they are also totally not bad for you if you doctor them up in that tricky way that I do.  So many recipes can be tweaked just a bit to make what was once a dessert-for-breakfast into an actually nutritious beginning to your day.  Now, this isn’t a sprouted flour that I have used-as in the days of yore-but it could very easily be sprouted or whole grain flour.  I don’t mind the local (and not rancid) all-purpose flour from our grocery store.

I took this recipe directly (with some minor changes) from Smitten Kitchen.  She is such a good source for delicious food when I need a quick fail-safe recipe.  She tests her stuff, and she loves food and she is good at her job.  I changed a few things, like using real minerals-intact sugar in place of refined, and I didn’t have buttermilk on hand (although making buttermilk is as easy as adding a tablespoon of lemon juice per cup of milk required and waiting 5 minutes until it curdles a bit), so I used organic whole milk, and I left out the blueberries.  Dub likes to have these cold as a snack later in the day and berries kind of turn him off in pancakes.

pancakes_1

This recipe takes about 5 minutes to whip up, and you are grilling and serving in about 15.  So easy.

pancakes_2

Lots of butter.  Duh.

pancakes_3

pancakes_4

And…

pancakes_5

Yes, please.

pancakes_6

Yes. Please.

Recipe at the end of this post.

bread_cinn

If you want to make delicious cinnamon raisin bread just follow my exact sourdough recipe found HERE and add a couple of tablespoons of cinnamon and a cup of raisins.  OR, those two items to your taste.  I like a lot of both.

dub_1

Here is this goof.  He never stops moving.

doll_1

Here is the Buddha princess.  She gets plenty to eat as you can see.  She is in the 95th percentile for weight and almost everything.  Dub was 10% across the board.  I thought it was my milk…apparently not.

wl-029_1z

Here is yet another endorsement for THIS lotion.

I swear by this to avoid stretch marks during pregnancy.

Weston had some pretty bad eczema when he was a baby, and over a few months it didn’t matter what I tried, NOTHING helped him.  Finally, around 6 months old I put this on him.  Two days and it was almost cleared up.  So naturally, with our dry climate here during the winter, as my poor hands were cracking and bleeding randomly I thought of Weleda.  I had been putting frankincense and Melaleuca and lavender oils on them daily-multiple times a day-to no avail.  Well guess stinkin’ WHAT?

What had already become rather deep wounds on my hands, has, in just one day almost already healed.  This is quite literally

SKIN FOOD.

Get it.  Use it.  Be amazed.

EASY AMAZING PANCAKE RECIPE: (Taken with a few minor tweaks from Smitten Kitchen)

2 cups good quality all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
1 teaspoon aluminum-free baking soda
1/2 teaspoon mineral sea salt
3 tablespoons coconut sugar
2 large pastured eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups organic whole milk (or buttermilk, or some milk and some whole milk yogurt!)
4 tablespoons grass-fed butter

I didn’t read her instructions because they’re pancakes.  I mean, how hard can they be?  So here is what I do.

Melt 4T butter on the griddle I will be using for the pancakes.  While that is melting, mix dry ingredients.

Mix in the eggs, milk and butter.  If it’s a bit thick, add a little more milk.

Add more butter to your pan (always), and get them going.

With pancakes you want to see bubbles before you flip ’em.

Serve with grass-fed butter, grade B maple syrup (because it’s actually good for you), and start your day right.

(Sorry Mr. Ham, maybe next time you won’t have to walk out the door to work right before they are ready next time.  Bad wifey:(

Until next time,

-Bee

Leave a Reply

