You Don’t Have To Know How To Cook To Eat Well.

Inspired by a vlog that Mama Natural posted recently (which I cannot seem to locate at the moment) I decided to take some totally unplanned pictures of a super fast meal I cooked to show you that eating healthily is not only easy, it’s pretty speedy too.  You have to know a few things, of course, but other than what I will share with you here, you really don’t need to know much about cooking to make a delicious and nutritious meal for your family.

Here we go.

meal2

6:01pm is not exactly planning ahead when your man gets home at 6:30pm.  Not to fear!  I have thawed meat and random veggies that I can make into something.  After a cursory look, I am saddened to find no potatoes, as they are always acceptable as a side with steak (at least for my cowboy of a husband), but I did find some polenta in the pantry, (which leads me to my next point which is that I have some tricks for stocking a pretty useful pantry that I will post in the near future) and that is totally cool because toddlers love them some crispy polenta.

meal1

If you are wondering why this sirloin says not for sale it is because we save money on our grass-fed meat by buying 1/4 to a full cow at a time and keeping it in our huge freezer.  It’s actually pretty bad-ass in terms of convenience to do it that way.  (Btw if you have never read my previous posts on cussing, ASS is not cuss-they say it on the radio.)

I like to bring a steak to room temp before grilling.  I take it out, pat it dry, season generously with salt and pepper and let sit for at least 30 minutes.

meal3

Next I prep my vegetables.  I learned from Mr. H. the order in which to cook foods.  I literally knew NOTHING when we first met, and honestly don’t know how I survived so long in this world.  But anyway, there is an order to things as far as the density of vegetables goes and I shall enlighten you here.

dub4

 

If you are using potatoes or polenta, heat a pan with oil and butter and get those going first.  They need to cook the whole time you do other stuff.

As you can see I’m working with the end of week supplies so what I make is entirely contingent upon what I have leftover.

meal6

Chop chop chop.

Heat a cast iron skillet (more and more I am exclusively using cast iron.  They are beautifully seasoned and nothing ever sticks.  I LOVE them), because the non-stick kind is bad-bad.

A few tablespoons of sunflower oil (not canola folks; if you don’t know why it’s because canola is literally Canada Oil and due to an agreement with the FDA some years ago they have successfully worked a rancid oil not fit for human consumption into almost every recipe book and food blog in this country under the guise of “flavorless” and “healthy” when it is anything BUT…all because it is a super cheap and a genetically altered crop), and of course a couple of tablespoons of grass-fed butter until melted, on medium.

meal9

Onions and carrots first until soft and translucent.  Then I make a little well and add the garlic.  Spread it around and wait until you just smell it’s loveliness.  Wait maybe 20 more seconds to “sweat” it and then add your other ingredients.

meal10

 

For me this was kale, which gets added before the spinach as it is thicker and needs a bit more time.  Sally Fallon says that thicker greens such as kale need to be cooked so as to help the digestive system break them down.  I get that.  I used to eat kale raw a lot-and although I still do at times, I now make sure to massage salt and oil into it first.  Helps the gut.

meal12

Add the spinach.

meal8

A peak over at the polenta.  I mostly keep a splash guard over this pan.

meal7

Once the veggies are finished add more oil if needed and throw on that steak.  Nice and hot is the name of the game with steak so don’t fear the smoke.  Also, I find that the lovely crust comes from the drying/peppering/and oiling of the nice and hot pan.  As far as steakhouse steaks go, this oiling and heating idea comes from there.  Very often they will finish the steak in the oven, but I just cook the whole thing on the stove, as we like ours med-rare.

meal11

The polenta draining on some paper towels.

meal13

Dinner on the table. (The steak is cut because Dub and I just eat the end off of Mr. H’s steak; I find that is plenty for us.)

jaehome1

The husband arriving home at…

clock

A little late, and good thing when you consider that I took about a 10-15 minute break to change a diaper and take some pics of this babe:

dub1

I didn’t consider dinner until way too late, I used what I had on hand, and this is what I got in return:

jaedub1

I am way too blessed for the way I’ve lived my life, but I’ll take it.

Now go make some real food.

Love,

Bee

p.s.

We wanted dessert so I made molasses spice cookies while dada gave dub a bath and bam: happiness.

cookies1

cookies2

cookies3

cookies4

You can find the recipe HERE.  The only changes I made were that I used sprouted flour, and fresh ginger instead of dried.

Happy eating y’all.

 

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Know How To Cook To Eat Well.

    • This last full cow we purchased from Snow Family Farms here in WA state. They raise lowline cows so apparently the hanging weight ends up being more meat and less bone, which saves $. We are very pleased with it, although I would have liked to have the option to keep the organ meats, they just assumed no one wanted that stuff and threw it out. If you want the organ meat make sure to tell them! Before that we used Rocky Ridge Ranch. I loved that meat as well. Really really good.

Leave a Reply

