Ultrasound Good Or Bad?

GetImage.aspx

I don’t know.  You like that?  I just chose to name this post that because it flows better than “Why we chose to be okay with a couple of ultrasounds.”  Anyway, the truth is it’s really hard to say whether or not ultrasound technology alters anything in fetal development.  There are some studies, most notably one that cites the migration of cells in little baby mouse fetuses after an ultrasound.  The conclusion is drawn that because there was documented cell migration that ultrasound is the cause.  More specifically, that holding the wand in one spot for a prolonged period of time actually heats up that area of the fetus, causing issues.  For example, there has been a rise in genital malformation in conjunction with the rise in frequency of ultrasounds (mostly to determine sex, so it makes sense).  I cannot say whether or not that is true, and quite honestly, it seems risky to mess too much with it since we really don’t know, but I asked my (very smart, totally informationally-rich) midwife about this and she said something very interesting.  She said that articles that cite that most popular study never once mention that there was also a control group in which they put mice in the same position for the same amount of time, but without the ultrasound.  Guess what they found?  Cell migration in the fetuses.  The exact same result occurred in both groups.  What does that mean?  Well I certainly don’t KNOW, but my best guess is they were scared shyte-less and their cells ran away.  No, I’m joking but I’m sure it had to do with fear.  Get why I love my midwife?  She actually takes the time to read the entire study when most people just read the articles about the studies.

So yeah, baby Dub survived with two old school ultrasounds and one newer one where we determined sex.  I don’t know what the deal is with those sound waves and how they affect the little baby in there but I do know I’m not allowing unnecessary ultrasounds and the ones we do allow (to establish a viable pregnancy and to determine sex…?) I’m going to just feel okay about.

One thing is for sure, there is nothing like becoming a parent to make you think and over-think every single decision you make.  And I would encourage you, if you are pregnant and not questioning everything it’s time to start.  There is too much misinformation out there, and no one, not even your well-intentioned doctor/midwife, etc. knows what is right for you and your baby.

Leave a Reply

