Orange Raisin Muffins. And Why Pregnant Women Shouldn’t Be Allowed To Vote.

IMG_6847

Let’s start with the topic of pregnant women voting.  No, I am not referring to political elections (although that is probably the case), I am speaking purely of anything to do with food.  I read an article a few years ago about two prominent chefs who engage in a friendly yearly paella competition.  For those of you who don’t know, paella is a Spanish seafood and rice dish traditionally made with octopus ink.  Sounds yuck.  Is yum.  Anyway I can imagine it is a thrill to be involved in and an honor to be a judge (which consists mainly of their close friends).  I bet they are able to really let the creative juices flow, adding a touch of this or that for interest and change.  As a non-pregnant judge I would be like “mmmm…just a dash of that fennel really plays off the blah-blah and adds to the blah…” right?  As a pregnant judge this would be the (not so silent or subtle) chatter coming from my end of the table “Oh my gosh, OH MY GOSH what IS that??  Uh, no no no, I can’t do whatever that is, it’s…oh my GAWD Ugchtch!” (which is how I type a gagging sound.  Just so you know I literally gagged just now imaging whatever that horribleness would be.)

So yeah, we’re gonna have another baby!

I’m psychotic and sick and those are my excuses for not being here for a month.  I have part 2 of my Is Your Bed Bad For You? post.  I wanted to share with you a bit of how sick I have been first.  It seems right to complain about it since I’ve had to go through it and it has been HORRIBLE.  I would rather suffer a mortal flesh wound than be unable to eat or smell or do anything due to unbelievable nausea 24/7.  Okay maybe not mortal, but a flesh wound.  I would have 10 babies sans drugs rather than suffer 6+ weeks of nausea.  Maybe.  Now I’m just being dramatic, but it feels so right.  I am pregnant after all.  Add to the sickness a needy and seriously active toddler?  Wow.

IMG_6846

One morning Jae tried to drink my juice and I cried because it was MY juice, but promptly stopped when he poured his own glass.  I told him he could have it and that I didn’t want it anyway.  Crazy pants.

So this day and this post is a celebration of feeling somewhat normal.  My entire last month has been survival.  No screen time at all for me.  I even had my phone on airplane mode most of the time because I was convinced it was emitting a signal that contributed to my nausea (which could possibly be true I guess?).  When Dub slept I slept.  Down every night at 7:30 just to avoid being conscious for the queasiness.  Today I woke up craving a muffin.  Not just any muffin, but a healthy and flavorful and moist muffin that would make all my dreams come true.  One thing a pregnant woman has going for her in the food judging department is that she knows exactly what sounds right (and of course wrong).  As I read through recipes I KNEW when I found the one.  I adjusted a few things, as I do, but I swear to you these muffins will make you happy.  Screw therapy or new love.  Make these muffins.

IMG_6861

(Slight disclaimer:  I haven’t used wheat in this house for a long time, but I am pregnant and I have sprouted organic wheat flour so I made an exception.  Wheat is bad, probably all hybridized and tampered with-even the organic-unless you use ancient wheat like spelt or einkorn, but sometimes you bake exception-muffins because you are baking a baby in your belly.)

Orange Raisin Muffins (adapted from here)

1c plust 2 tablespoons kamut, spelt, or oat flakes (I used kamut)

1/3c chopped walnuts (mine were already pre-soaked and dehydrated but raw would be fine here)

1c sprouted whole wheat flour

3/4c organic all-purpose flour (mine is local which makes me feel better)

1/3c flax meal(*see note)

2tsp baking powder

1/2tsp baking soda

1/4tsp mineral sea salt

2 pastured eggs

2/3c coconut sugar

3/4c buttermilk (**see note)

1/2c fresh squeezed orange juice

1/4c sunflower oil

2Tbsp freshly grated orange zest

1tsp vanilla extract

3/4c raisins

*Flax goes rancid quickly so buy whole seeds and grind them fresh.  I grind a tupperware container at a time and keep the ground in the fridge and the whole seeds in the freezer.

**I never buy buttermilk because the only kind I can find is dairygold or something horrendous and it is always low-fat (yuck) so I just make it.  For every cup of buttermilk called for in a recipe add 1Tbsp lemon juice to 1c whole milk and wait 5 minutes for it to curdle.  Bam.  Buttermilk.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Coat or line 12 muffin cups.

Spread 1 cup kamut and the walnuts on two separate baking pans and bake 4-6 minutes for the nuts and 8-10minutes for the kamut.  Let cool.

Mix together your dry ingredients: sprouted wheat, all-purpose, flax, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Whisk together the eggs and coconut sugar until smooth.  Whisk in buttermilk, orange juice, oil, orange zest, and vanilla.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Fold in raisins and the toasted kamut and nuts.  Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cups.  Sprinkle tops with the 2 tablespoons of remaining kamut.  Bake until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  The original recipe said 15-25 minutes.  Mine took 19.

I’m not going to tell you to let them cool because I can’t imagine you are able to do that.  I burned my hands and my mouth but it was totally worth it.  The burns could have been worse but I slathered so much grass-fed butter on there I had a barrier.

Don’t forget the butter.  Grass-fed butter.  Kerrygold is an honored member of this family.

IMG_6855

Stay tuned for part 2 of the Is Your Bed Bad For You? post and a ton of posts on how I do pregnancy.  It will be a whole lot of awesome, and probably some TMI.

-Bee

Leave a Reply

