EASY Gluten-Free Almond/Peanut Butter Cookies

cookie2

These cookies are too easy to be this good.  Easy is the best when you are trying to clean up toddler messes and make dinner, and do household chores, and the list goes on.  Another beautiful thing about them is that they are refined-sugar free.  For those of you who don’t know, we do not eat refined sugar in this house.  We used to feed our water kefir with organic cane sugar, but after a while even that small amount became too much.  Now we just use grade b maple syrup (Trader Joe’s has the most affordable kind, although it is not organic; about every other time I splurge on the $30 organic bottle), honey, or coconut sugar.  I used coconut sugar in this recipe.

They are not just gluten-free, they are flourless.  I was doing a lot of alternative flours there for a while but found that I wasn’t happy with having to use so many ingredients to achieve the spring in baked goods.  Something that starts out as being healthy (lack of wheat) ended up seeming…not quite healthy.  Xanthan this and guar that.  I like this recipe because it’s simple and it’s truly like a peanut butter cookie.

ingredients

I found the recipe for this HERE, but of course I did not use cane sugar, and I had about 1/2c each of almond and peanut butter so I mixed the two.  It turned out perfect, in my opinion.  The thing is, even if your peanut butter is organic, most likely the peanuts were grown in soil that leaves much to be desired.  Peanuts will grow in anything, and very often, are grown in nutrient depleted soil.  For this reason it really is best to eat almond butter (although almonds have their own drawbacks-one being that it is all but impossible to find truly RAW almonds these days), but I’ve just never warmed to the taste of almond butter.  Peanut butter is just…better.

Gluten-Free Almond/Peanut Butter Cookies:

1/2 c almond butter

1/2c peanut butter (choose organic peanut butter, just trust me)

2/3c coconut sugar

3/4tsp baking soda

1 large pastured egg

1/8(ish) tsp salt

1/2tsp vanilla extract

cookiedough

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix almond/peanut butters, coconut sugar, and baking soda until combined.  Add egg, salt and vanilla extract until mixed in.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and roll dough into small ball shaped…balls (I tried to avoid saying that) .

balls

Press down in an x-shape with the tines of a fork.

forked

Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.

cooked

And voilà.  Fast. Easy. Delicious.

Make these for yourself, and for your baby, and for your other baby.  Dub was curious and even seemed a bit skeptical…

Dubcookie

Then he looked at me like this.

Dubcookie2

I love handing him a cookie knowing it has nothing but minerals, healthy fats, and nutritious eggs.

Also, I’ve started my post on non-toxic bedding and I have so much information it’s silly.  I can’t wait!

-Bee

One thought on “EASY Gluten-Free Almond/Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. I’m obsessed with these cookies. I’ve made these using a similar recipe from Edible Perspective. I love having these around, but I find it hard to control myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

