Some Food I’ve Been Making.

waffle1

You’re welcome that I never make anything picture perfect when it comes to food.  I do that on purpose so you can feel better about yourself.  Not really, but it makes me feel better to say it.  What I am not is a perfectionist.  Again, a reason for you to feel confident that you can become a master in the kitchen, as I obviously am.

Either way, I have some things to share with you.  I’ve been cooking and making desserts as usual, but somehow I’ve been missing from this blog.  It doesn’t really matter, but it should.  Again, not a perfectionist.  I suppose that is why this blog is not my “job” and most certainly will never pay me money.  My job is to take care of babies and be in the kitchen.  I like my job.  (Notice that I didn’t mention cleaning anywhere in that occupational description; under-promise, over-deliver.)

waffle2

If you like waffles, you have to make the waffles from Nourishing Traditions.  Yes, I am predictable.  I’ve been cooking from her book exclusively because I needed a refresher as far as the “basics” go, although I would argue that her book is far from basic.  Sometimes I am not ready to prepare dinner 24 hours ahead of time, or have already made from scratch 10 of the 20 ingredients listed in a recipe.  Okay, a moment of honesty from my most lazy self?  Sometimes it’s intimidating to make your recipes, Sally Fallon.  (That’s it.  That is the last time I will ever speak against you again.)  She is right, she is smarter, and I should always have something brewing in the kitchen.  No, I’m not joking.  I happen to believe the way we used to do things was much better, and that mothers used to have a firm grasp on events in the kitchen and be able to pass those down to the ladies of the house.  Inflammatory statements!  The ladies?!  What about the boys who want to wear lipstick and cook?!  I’m fine with that, as long as they also drive a tractor.

egg whites

Pictured above are spelt waffles.  The flour is soaked overnight in whole milk organic plain yogurt, as the soaking allows the grain to be broken down to a more digestible state.  The yogurt also imparts a bit of a sour flavor which I love.  I honestly will never see a waffle in the same way again.  These waffles have ruined me.  I also happen to believe that whenever you add whipped egg yolks to something it becomes better.  I love foam.  Anything foam, really.  When I was young I ordered 20oz extremely dry cappuccinos.  Coffee-folk hated me.  I have a hand foamer.  I use my beater regularly.  I sleep on foam.  I was overly obsessed with the foam pit under the trampoline at the place where I took gymnastics as a kid.  I still dream about it.  No one ever let me go down there, which is probably why.  Anyway you guessed it, this waffle recipe has whipped egg whites in it.

egg beater

Waffle recipe at the end of this post.

gelatin

If you are a pregnant woman or a nursing mother, or a human at all you should purchase this gelatin and start putting it in your food.  I used to make rice without it.  Now I do not.  Did you know gelatin will prevent your skin from wrinkling?  Well, that’s not true, however it is good for you, and it is good for your joints and skin and body.  I cook 2c rice in butter on the stove top and once it is nice and milky I add 4c chicken stock and a tablespoon of gelatin and salt.  Cook on medium heat until the stock is at the level of the rice, cover and cook on low for a couple of hours.  Perfect rice.  I learned it from my mentor, of course.

eggs

Also, I’ve been making ice cream like a mad woman.  I have perfected chocolate ice cream to the extent that no one, I mean no one does it better than I do.  Quite a claim, and I stand behind it.  I will share that recipe in a post all its own.  I’m way into Kahlua in ice cream since it has a lovely flavor and it keeps the ice cream soft.  I use the standard Nourishing Traditions ice cream recipe and tweak as necessary.  By tweak I mean change completely.

kahlua

Kahlua Ice Cream:

3c pastured heavy cream (never ultra-pasturized because ultra is no longer food…ants won’t eat it so you certainly shouldn’t)

1c pastured milk (I use raw)

5-6 egg yolks

1T arrowroot powder

1T vanilla extract

1T Kahlua

1c coconut sugar or 3/4c maple syrup

ice cream milk

Heat milk, cream, and sugar in saucepan over low heat until bubbles form around the sides.  Beat egg yolks and have ready.  Prepare an ice bath with some ice cubes and water in a stainless steel bowl with another bowl nestled on top.  Pour some of the heated milk into the yolks and add the yolks back into your saucepan along with arrowroot, stirring constantly.  The custard should coat the back of a wooden spoon, or reach about 170 degrees.  Once you have finished cooking your custard, transfer it to the stainless steel bowl in the ice bath and whisk in vanilla and Kahlua.  Whisk until it is nicely cooled and you can put it in your fridge to cool for a couple of hours.  Process according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

I’ve also been making other ice creams.  Like this pumpkin ice cream.  I use quality ingredients of course, because they always always affect the end result.  How do I know?  Because I made THIS David Lebovitz recipe once using canned (organic only pumpkin of course) pumpkin and oh my dears it tasted like CAN.

pumpicecream

So I made it with real butternut squash this time.  Basic recipe from above, but using his amount of pumpkin (local, freshly roasted and pureéd of course) and his spices and bam.  Yum-ness.

pumpkin2

Want to roast a pumpkin and make pureé?  I find that slicing lengthwise, removing seeds, brushing with coconut oil and placing face down in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes to 1.25 hours yields great results, depending on the size of the pumpkin of course.  And by pumpkin I mean any squash.  For example, I used butternut squash in the above “pumpkin” recipe.  If I were to use a pumpkin, it would be a sweet pie pumpkin.  Ever try to make something wonderful with those huge carving pumpkins?  Flavorless.  Waste of time.

babyhair

It’s been too long since you have seen this sunshiny face.  Here he is, in all of his crazy hippie-baby-hair glory.

Yogurt Soaked Waffles (from Nourishing Traditions)

2.5c freshly ground spelt flour

2c yogurt

2 egg yolks lightly beaten

2-4T maple syrup

2T melted butter

1tsp sea salt

4 egg whites

pinch sea salt

Soak flour in yogurt 12-24 hours.  When you are ready to make waffles mix in yolks, syrup, melted butter and salt.  In a clean bowl beat egg whites with pinch of salt until stiff.  Fold into your flour mixture and cook in a well oiled waffle iron.  (I like to use coconut oil spray from Trader Joes.  It’s inexpensive, organic, and not gross and fake like vegetable oil spray.)  Serve waffles however you like them, but I serve with TONS of grass-fed butter and maple syrup.  En-freaking-JOY.

babymama

3 thoughts on “Some Food I’ve Been Making.

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to
    this web site before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking it and checking back often!

    • Thank you! This is for sure the most MIA I have been…this pregnancy has been intense for sure. Starting after this new baby makes her arrival I should be back much more frequently!

    • Hey! I haven’t blogged for a long time due to a very intense pregnancy, but I have only a few weeks left and plan to blog regularly again once this little bug arrives. Take care!
      -Bee

Leave a Reply

