Lazy, Delicious Things. Baby.

IMG_5672

Sometimes I’m lazy.  I don’t like to go all the way to my bedroom to get the camera and then have to point it at something and shoot.  Lacto-fermenting cucumbers and peppers and carrots for example, look gorgeous in their jars, but I haven’t taken pictures of them yet.  Because I’m lazy.  But my laziness is slightly ironic because somehow when I’m actually being lazy in the kitchen (like when I make french toast for breakfast) I have the energy to go get the camera and take photos.  Hilarious.   Well, here it is folks.  French toast.  Sometimes I’m lazy and it’s the most delicious thing.

IMG_5661

You’ve made frenchy-french-french toast so you know the deal, but this is how I do it.  Slathered in grass-fed butter and grade b maple syrup of course.

IMG_5660

IMG_5679

IMG_5671

You know you want it.

Now, onto other things.  I’m sort of obsessed with my baby, and have recently been realizing how incredible it is that we get this tiny glimpse into the way God must feel about us.  You don’t believe in God?  That’s cool, we don’t have to agree.  I do though; I totally EFFING DO.  I’m experiencing this amazing transformation in myself from a completely selfish (and half-drunk) just joking (not joking) person pre-baby, to a person who makes every decision for her family, and it can only be from the Grace of God.  I’m good with differences of opinion, world view, faith, etc.  What has changed is that I’m no longer wishy-washy about what I believe.  I’m clear.  It’s rad.

IMG_5750

I’m also clear on this being the cutest bubble butt in the history of the world, ever (next to your own baby, of course).

Also, I’ve been praying that The Lord would help revive my passions in the kitchen since it’s sort of important and it’s MY job to nourish this baby.  We are still nursing 5x a day, but still, he needs me to be inspired in that area.  As does Mr. H.  God has answered my prayers.  I’m super excited about starting to do some new things in the kitchen.  One of them being lacto-fermentation.  I’ll do a post on it when I get enough energy to go get the camera and take photos of my pretties fermenting in their jars.

IMG_5692

Not only did I learn some new fermentation techniques but I learned to can!  I’m really grateful to our friend Pam for coming over to teach me because she made it so much less complicated and scary than I thought it was.  I feel empowered now.  I do wish the food didn’t have to be heated so many times, I worry that all the nutrients are being killed.  I get why people did it.  I get why they still do it.  I will do it too, I just won’t preserve everything that way.  We have a really large freezer so some will be frozen, some dried, and some canned.

IMG_5705

Speaking of drying foods I dehydrated an entire box of freshly harvested tomatoes and they are delicious, even if this is all I got for my efforts after that.

IMG_5763

I simply halved the small ones and quarterd the larger ones.  I scooped out the most visible seeds, but left the bulk of the tomato and didn’t season or salt them and they turned out delicious!  True heirloom tomatoes don’t need any help in the flavor department.

IMG_5765

They end up in potato dishes and add such interest I will be making them again and again.

IMG_5723

IMG_5687

I’ve also been really into home decor stuff as I’ve mentioned before.  I don’t have all the dollar-dollar billz to support my habit so I decided to teach myself how to make pillow covers.  I was particularly inspired by an etsy designer who was featured on Remodelista a while back, so I made this.

IMG_5689

In other news I love my baby.  Have I mentioned that before?

IMG_5709

Bye.

7 thoughts on “Lazy, Delicious Things. Baby.

  1. That French toast is to die for!!! I noticed the raw milk, I bet it’s awesome to be able to buy it! Here in Michigan they treat dairy farmers like crack dealers if they sell it- insane! I buy the next best thing (IMO) from a local dairy called “cream line” milk which has been pasteurized, just not homogenized so the cream still rises to the top – YUM! PS: we loved our little guy in his cloth diaper bubble butt too!!

    • I’ve been using Udi’s Gluten Free breads for Jae and for Weston. I don’t eat any bread at all anymore, but actually, just today started considering making a sourdough starter out of spelt and just making 100% ancient grain sourdough breads. Not gluten-free, but healthy in that they have not been hybridized and because of the traditional long fermentation, which breaks down the phytic acid in the grains and aids in digestion. The answer for me is always RIGHT if it is simple. GF bread is sooooooooo complicated. If you need it, then yes, but if not it is much healthier to go with simple. There are 3, THREE ingredients in traditionally fermented sourdough bread. As long as you use organic, ancient grains it seems best. Short answer:) I’m going to post a recipe for 100% spelt bread here soon.

Leave a Reply

