How To Cook Perfect Quinoa. And Baby Stuff. And Other Stuff.

quinoa

I’ve been making quinoa a lot lately.  Because of that I have discovered how to cook it perfectly and I want to share with you.  Quinoa is an extremely versatile food, therefore I make a very large amount early in the week and just keep it in the fridge so I have quick lunches for the Mr., or if I’m in a pinch for time at dinner I can heat it up and add veggies, etc.  Personally I find that the best flavor is derived from chicken stock.  (If you are a vegetarian water works as well.)  The very best is homemade chicken stock, but using the free range and organic boxed variety works too.  As always, the final taste depends almost entirely on the use of quality ingredients.

Perfect Quinoa: (obviously you can double or triple this recipe as desired)

1c quinoa (it is unnecessary to rinse the packaged quinoa from Trader Joes, but if you buy quinoa in bulk make sure to rinse it well to remove its protective film because it tastes bitter)

2c good chicken stock

1/2tsp mineral sea salt

1-2T grass-fed butter

Bring stock to a boil.  Add quinoa and bring to a boil again, cover, lower heat and simmer for 12 minutes (I simmer on 4, but each stove is different).  Remove from heat keeping lid on and let sit for 20 minutes.  This is a perfect one to start at the very beginning of your prep work.  I start the quinoa and then move on to chopping onions, garlic, celery, carrots, etc.  Remove Lid and add to your other items, or eat alone.  I (of course) add more butter, and very often some chèvre.  

quinoababy

 If you have little ones this is a perfect beginning to Quinoa Fritters.  Simply mix your quinoa with about 5 eggs, some chopped greens (basil, arugula, kale chopped very small), and soft cheese and drop spoonfuls onto a frying pan and flatten.  Kids love them!

native

 

I lost this little painting for a while and I was freaking out.  I found it.  I’m okay now.

coffee

 

I’ve re-introduced this drug into my life again and I am more productive than I have ever been in my life!  Thank you Jesus for coffee.  I only have about 1/2 cup a day, but after years of almost no coffee, it is amazing.  I brought it back because without bread, GF breads, sugar, or any vices at all life was feeling a little boring.  Coffee does the trick.  

We do french press, it’s stronger and just better all around than drip.  It’s kind of a beeatch to make since I have to rinse out the pot outside but its worth it.  Here’s how I like my coffee:

1tsp grade b maple syrup

1/2-3/4c coffee

1/4c raw grass-fed milk

It’s lukewarm.  Most people are shooting me eye-daggers at the thought of anything but hot coffee.  That’s cool, I’m strange, we knew that.

airout

 

Next up, diaper rash.  Dub has had this one spot that won’t go away for almost three weeks!  It’s not too bad but it bugs me major.  I’ve tried everything; sposies, diaper rash cream, coconut oil, homemade diaper spray, sun, air, cloth, nothing at all, and nothing works.  What I find works best is to let him go commando on a regular basis.  Not for long, of course, but this is a pretty regular sight around our house these days.

airout2

 

cups

 

Kind of obsessed with things that fit into things.  It’s rad.

 

thor

 

Here is Thor.

boo

Booba paw.

ica

 

Icarus.

dido

 

Dido.

b&w

 

Busy baby.

candle

 

Best bang for the buck candle I’ve ever had.  Ever.  Get THESE CANDLES and you won’t have to buy new ones for a long time.  Also, they permeate the entire house.  It’s like no candle I’ve ever experienced and the smells are off the hook.

feet

 

It’s getting colder and my feet are getting cold.  In spring I dream of bare feet, but now I’m ready for the change of season.  I’ve been slightly obsessed with finding good winter blankets lately, something to do with being a mama and having this need to keep my baby warm or…who knows.  Bring it Northwest winter.   I’m ready.

And, I was going to post a picture of Pearl, but I decided I’m going to find one of her alive and post it in memoriam.  Yup, Pearl is dead.  She was my favorite chicken, black and white, and sweet.  The only one that was not so selfish as to trample the others for food, but not so scared that she wouldn’t come near us.  I went out to give the girls some scraps last night and she was stiff lying in between her food and water in the coop.  No signs of a struggle.  No reason I could come up with at all.  I was a little freaked to grab her foot-like she was going to sit up and start screaming or something, but that didn’t happen, thank God.  Anyway, Pearl we loved you.   Thanks for the eggs.

Peace. 

One thought on “How To Cook Perfect Quinoa. And Baby Stuff. And Other Stuff.

Leave a Reply

