Spelt Chocolate Cake Oh My! And Some Pictures.

cake

So yesterday was a little challenging in that I had another migraine.  That is only 2 weeks after my last one, and suffice it to say, I was a little up in arms about it.  I mean, it is clear that they are hormone related for me so I know what’s going on but it doesn’t make it any easier.  Obviously because of that I deserved cake.  I am surprised I felt well enough to make cake, but I am so glad I did.  This. Cake. Is. Balls. Amazing.  Take it from me, I haven’t been eating cake since we cut out all grains and gluten.  Not even any GF breads or treats.  It’s been 2 months people.  I have mentioned before that although we are mostly grain free, we do indulge in spelt and farro and some other older grains sometimes.  Yesterday was one of those times.  I found the recipe here, but the frosting is all me.  Can’t have a true chocolate cake without frosting!  Frostings are hard when you don’t do refined sugar or plasticky yuck-ness so I don’t normally do them, but yesterday my migraine visitor needed to be pounded by happiness so I bucked up and made a little chocolate army miracle to beat down the intruder.

drycake

Blah, blah, blah, cake.  I’ll get to the point since cake is really what matters.

chocolate

Spelt Chocolate Cake! (adapted from food.com)

Note:  I make the frosting before the cake so it can be thickening in the fridge during the baking.

For the Frosting:

1 lb (or two sticks) butter

1/4c raw honey

1T grade b maple syrup

pinch mineral sea salt

3T cocoa

2tsp vanilla extract

Melt butter in and honey saucepan.  Remove from heat and whisk in maple syrup, pinch salt, cocoa and vanilla until well combined.  Place in fridge to thicken.  (I place mine in the fridge in a stainless steel bowl so it cools even more quickly.)

For the Cake:

1 3/4c coconut palm sugar

1 3/4c spelt flour

3/4c cocoa powder

1 1/2tsp baking powder (aluminum free)

1 1/2tsp baking soda (aluminum free)

1tsp mineral sea salt

2  pastured eggs

1c raw milk

1/2c melted grass-fed butter

2tsp vanilla extract

1c boiling water

Heat oven to 350F.  Butter and flour a 13x9x2 inch cake pan.  Mix dry ingredients.  Add in eggs, milk, melted butter and vanilla and mix on medium with a hand mixer for about 2 minutes.  Add in the boiling water and pour into prepared pan.  The batter will be thin.  Bake 30-40 minutes (I checked at 30 and ended up going 35), or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean (or almost clean).

cake2

Once your cake is finished you will want to let it cool completely.  This is hard, but very worth it as the cake gets better as it cools.  This should be sufficient time to allow your frosting to thicken.  Once both are ready, spread that frosting all over that cake and go to town!  This cake is even better the second day.  I keep mine in the fridge and slice pieces off and walk around the house singing happy songs that give migraines the middle finger.

flowers

Also, I’ve been enjoying the last days of summer and trying to have the camera with us more.  Here are some photos from Dub’s and my daily walk.

booba

mustang

And I love baby feet.

dubfeet2

dubfeet

dub1

dubsmile

dubeat

dubeat2

1, 2, 3, The Toddler Years.  I recently read that book and found it very helpful in preparing me for what is to come.  It’s all about respecting your child and really trying to understand how they are feeling.  I highly recommend it.  It is helping me really communicate with Weston and I can tell he is communicating with me a lot better.  Of course happy turns to sad in an instant, but that is always an opportunity to figure out what he needs and for both of us to do better next time.

dub2

I will probably cry the day that fat roll on his thighs goes away.  I love how it squishes in my hands.  As a mom I have to grind my teeth when I love on him just so I don’t hug him too hard.

dub4

I’ve added a turmeric shake into our regular menu for all of turmeric’s health benefits.  It is delicious blended with banana, yogurt and/or raw milk, a little bit of sea salt, vanilla and ice cubes.  I got the idea HERE.  If you are curious about some of the health benefits of turmeric click here.

Once fall rolls around I’ll need to add tumeric to warm indian dishes and soups.

dub3

What are you doing to savor the last few days of summer?

-Bee

Leave a Reply

