The #1 Birthday Celebration. Best AND Easiest Hummus Recipe.

IMG_5140

You Guys.  What is better than celebrating the life of your baby with family and friends and beer and cupcakes?  Oh, and a bouncy castle?  All credit to Mr. H. for damning the torpedoes and insisting on a big birthday bash for the babe. We had the party yesterday and it was totally awesome.  Short and sweet from 12 noon to 2pm.  We had pizza from the farmer’s market that was ah-mazing, gluten-free cupcakes from a local bakery, and kids coming out our ears.  Every other moment as I was trying to get something done, a child would yank on my shorts and request something  somehow more complicated than robbing The Bank Of Dubai.  It was a tiny glimpse into what life will be if/when we add another one or two little tikes to this family.

Incredibly, Dub seemed to understand perfectly what the bouncy castle was all about.  He was all over that gym like a full-on toddler.

IMG_5173

IMG_5147

IMG_5154

 

Thank you to my uncle Ross for capturing all these awesome moments that we just couldn’t have gotten otherwise!

IMG_5198

IMG_5202

IMG_5203

IMG_5206

IMG_5222

IMG_5234

A sweet moment of a daddy and his little boy caught by my uncle.

IMG_5240

And the moment we have all been waiting for…Weston’s first sugar.  Yeah, I know it’s poison.  I will not be making a habit of it, but I decided to give myself a break and not bake and make everything for this party and one exception I had to make was sugar.  Interesting to note from a taste perspective though,  it has been a so long since I’ve had refined sugar (in this family we only indulge in sugar with minerals still intact*, so grade B maple syrup, honey, palm sugar, rapadura…mostly maple syrup though), it tasted grainy and yucky and fake and strange.  No joke.

IMG_5247

Weston didn’t seem to mind, however.

IMG_5256

IMG_5264

IMG_5273

IMG_5304

Jesus most certainly is my homie because it was supposed to rain yesterday and it waited until after the party to start.  Like, right after.  The weather was perfect for our purposes.  After, when Dub went down for a much-needed nap, and I and the husband and Dub’s godfather cleaned up, the house was this cozy little reprieve from the chaos of earlier.  When Dub woke up we just cuddled on the sofa and enjoyed the silence and view of the rain outside.  It was a perfect day.

IMG_5123

Along with pizza we served fresh veggies from the garden and hummus.  This hummus has become my go-to for easy, healthy** snack food.  I have heard a lot of people say they would like to learn to make hummus.  There is no learning, there is only doing; by that I mean it is so easy you will wonder why you haven’t been making it forever.  Mr. Swanson (of Swanson Farm) complimented my hummus yesterday, asking how I get it so fluffy?  I guess it is the love I make it with.  The recipe follows, so you tell me.

IMG_5124

Best And Easiest Hummus Recipe:

2 cans organic garbanzo beans (reserve the liquid from one can)

1/2c tahini

1 3/4 tsp mineral sea salt (we use Real Salt and can never go back to normal sea salt)

1 T fresh squeezed lemon juice

2-4 cloves minced garlic (this is all depending on your taste preferences.  Important to remember that as the hummus sits and the flavors marry, the garlic will become more pronounced.  I do 2 medium-sized cloves)

IMG_5125

Place garbanzo beans in food processor (I use the food processor over the vita mix because the vitamix makes it a bit too smooth for me.  I suppose the fluff factor could come from the fact that I let the machine run for a while), pulse several times to mix, add garlic and pulse a few more times.  Add remaining ingredients and run the machine for a couple of minutes.  I continue making other things at this juncture, or go put my mascara on or something.  I like to be productive.  Also, I mince the garlic prior to putting it in the food processor because I have gone without and found a whole clove in my hummus before.  Not cool to miss out on all that wonderful garlic.

IMG_5127

IMG_5129

And, you’re done.  That’s it.  Hummus should sit for at least an hour.  I like to make mine the day before so it has really had a chance to come together in the fridge overnight.

IMG_5133

Isn’t that embarrassingly easy?  Now, go make this healthy deliciousness for the people you love.

*If you are unaware as to why refined sugar is bad let me break it down for you.  In nature sugar contains minerals.  In order to isolate the sweet, large sugar cane manufacturers remove the minerals completely and sell only the sweet refined sugar.  Sugar cane is one of the largest and most sprayed crops there is, so that is one reason to avoid it, but beyond that, the removal of minerals does something horrible to our bodies.  Without the minerals our bodies don’t know what to do with the sugar.  Minerals are the middle men that slow the absorption of sugar.  Without them our bodies respond to sugar as though it is a poison.  Our bodies recoil from it, but also store it, because most of us eat a lot of it.  If you eat organic cane sugar it is the exact same problem.  Still refined.  If you eat agave it is a problem because the end result of agave is so far removed from where it started in nature, it’s just as processed as eating a tv dinner.  If you want to change the way you feel, start by cutting out refined sugar.  You will recognize that it is in everything, and you will feel (and probably look) much better.

**Among other reasons to eat garbanzo beans (like increased satisfaction in overall diet followed by weight loss):

“The mineral manganese—a key antioxidant in the energy-producing mitochondria found inside most cells—is also provided in excellent amounts by garbanzo beans. In fact, just one cup of garbanzos can provide you with nearly 85% of the Daily Value (DV) for this key antioxidant. An increasing number of animal and human studies clearly show the ability of garbanzo beans to reduce our risk of heart disease, and we believe that an important part of this risk reduction is due to the fantastic antioxidant make-up of these legumes.”

Leave a Reply

