Delicious Donuts With Frosting! And Some Stuff Only The Ladies Should Hear.

IMG_9970

I’ve decided upon a recipe that will compliment the feminine nature of this post.  Donuts.  But first, the information I think you need to know about.

First, you know how it’s all connected right?  Like, what we eat should be real because what we are made of is real and we need to feed the good stuff to stay healthy?  Well, the same goes for what we put on our bodies, and in our parts.  (If you haven’t gotten a clue as to where this is going yet then you deserve what comes next.)  I’m talking about tampons.  I kind of knew they were probably bad, but I didn’t know how bad.  Of course cotton is one of the top GM crops, and of course they bleach the crap out of it.  I guess I always just thought “What other option do I have?”  I don’t really want to wear a diaper around (which is what a pad feels like).  So here we are.  My monthly visitor has finally returned and I have just discovered that:

TAMPONS HAVE BEEN SHOWN TO CAUSE INFERTILITY.

There it is folks.  An entire lifetime of using tampons and no one ever told me there was a danger of this.  But of course, why would they?  Tampons absorb liquid, but they don’t absorb the other stuff.  I mean, think about what a period is…yeah…we had been preparing to house a baby so there is tissue as well in there.  What happens to the tissue that isn’t allowed to escape for years?  It gets backed up in your uterus and causes problems.  I don’t know why I never thought of that before, but it is gross and scary.

There are a lot of things that change if you stop using tampons.  Cramps become way less intense, or non-existent.  I have been experiencing the benefits of this and it’s amazing.  So, what other than a diaper can you use?  Please don’t say the cup.   DON’T say it.

The cup.  It totally grossed me out too.  I honestly can’t believe I am cool with it now, but after reading about the dangers of long-term tampon use (and of course, I want to have more babies!) it was worth looking into.  I found out that it is pretty okay actually.  The brand Lunette is made with the safest materials and was actually given an award in Finland.  I didn’t choose this because I care about all those tampon applicators in landfills.  I did it for future babies that I want to meet.  I’m not saying everyone who uses tampons is going to have trouble conceiving, but if there is a chance that tampon use might make it difficult?  Deal breaker.

tumblr_m23beeIVT41qbhzja

So I tried it, and guess what?  It’s not gross or weird at all.  It doesn’t cause cramping and it’s not messy, and it makes me feel better about all of it.  Also, you can wear one of these for way longer than you wear a tampon.

Only about 3 years ago I actually thought that the FDA was looking out for my well-being.  I very often found myself in a grocery store reading a label and telling myself that the FDA wouldn’t approve something that is harmful to my health.  Of course they cannot make healthy decisions for me and of course I want the freedom to choose, but the fact that for the most part the FDA is in it for the control (and of course the off-the-books money) is enough to cause me to reeeeaaaaallllyyyy look at what I put in, on, and around my body.  (If you are curious about my negativity toward the FDA just google FDA and Monsanto, relax into your leather club chair, and spend the next few hours enlightening yourself.  Don’t forget the alcohol, it’s a depressing read.)

Now, about these donuts.

IMG_9984

These donuts are amaze-balls.  They are delicious and healthy and moist and awesome and if you don’t have a donut pan you need to go to Target right now and get one, and if you don’t have a Target get it here on Amazon.

IMG_9981

As with all great meals you must start with great ingredients, so I highly suggest you use real grass-fed butter, and pastured eggs as they ensure a truly delightful outcome.

IMG_9980

There are a few ways to make this recipe.  I’ve made it several times exactly as it appears on Roost the blog where I found it.  However, the last time I made it I adjusted a few things and I really liked it.  I’m going to give it to you my way.

IMG_9975

Delicious Donuts With Frosting! (Adapted from Roost) Makes about 12 donuts

Frosting

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup almond butter

3 TBS maple syrup

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

Heat coconut oil in a saucepan until just melted.  Remove from heat and add remaining ingredients and stir until combined.  Set aside and let it thicken as it cools.

Donuts

2 1/3c packed almond flour (Honeyville is the best for baking

1/2tsp salt

1/2tsp baking soda

1 1/2tsp cinnamon

1/2tsp cloves

1/2tsp nutmeg

1tsp allspice

4 eggs

1 large very ripe banana

1/4c maple syrup

1/4c molasses

1/2c sunflower oil

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and place in your vitamix (or any high-speed blender).  Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.  Spray your pan with coconut non stick spray, or real butter.  Spoon into donut pan and bake 20 minutes.   Let cool a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Once the donuts have cooled, spread the frosting on and dig in!  Maybe you are like me and you double the frosting recipe.  Maybe you don’t and you judge me.  It’s cool, I don’t care, I’m eating donuts right now.

IMG_9983

Peace, love, and happy lady parts.

-Bee

2 thoughts on “Delicious Donuts With Frosting! And Some Stuff Only The Ladies Should Hear.

Leave a Reply

