More Of A Looker And Less Of A Hooker. Berry Ice Cream Recipe.

IMG_1001

I’m sort of revisiting the past right now, listening to Blue Scholars and feeling like I have some time to myself.  The baby has been taking better naps lately because I stopped rushing in there every time he starts to fuss.  Oh man, if only I had read Bringing Up Bébé about nine months ago.  That’s the thing though; all of pregnancy is preparing for birth not for parenting.  I don’t know when you are supposed to figure out how to parent because once the baby is ejected it’s not like you have time for squat.  Anyway, I actually do have some time on my hands lately and my house is clean, my kitchen is bustling with preparative activities and I am READING AGAIN.

The book was given to me by my homegirl [we shall call her] Shaw-Shaw, and although I’m not adopting every approach in the book, it is well written and entertaining.  Included in this quick little read are actual studies and statistics which I sort of need when I’m reading something.  It’s the best of both worlds I guess.  One thing I am learning is that I kind of overdid it with Dub in the beginning.  I probably couldn’t have done it any other way, but I never let him cry-like at all-until about 6 months.  I’m learning that a little bit of fussing is okay because it teaches him to figure it out.  I’m not too late to start this little trick, and already in the last week it is making a difference.  He is becoming more patient, and contrary to my most palpable fears, he does not have a complete meltdown if I convey my request for him to wait a few moments while I finish something.

IMG_0948

Next point, I read how babies really do understand a ton of what we are saying, so I’ve been speaking to him like a human being and Holy Mother of God it is working.  For example, I actually TELL him that visitors are coming over and when they show up he doesn’t lose it.  I explain to him that I’m going in the other room to put something away and he doesn’t scream, he waits and watches.  I used to just run as fast as I could and sing a song at the top of my lungs for 20 seconds so he knew I was still around.  I never even considered using words to say stuff.  There is a reason people describe me as brilliant.

Another thing French women tend to focus on is their looks.  It is kind a big deal to get the body back post-baby; they don’t seem to lose their sense of themselves as a woman and wife first.  I can’t say I’ve let it all go, but I certainly haven’t been taking the time to get ready that I used to.  Since starting this book I’ve been trying to care a little more, turning in my signature t-shirt and granny panties (I find them funny, and they are, but I might be taking it too far) for a short black robe as I traipse around the house in the mornings and at night.  Mr. H. seems to appreciate this.  In addition to paying closer attention to my appearance I am getting real sleep for the first time in about a year so I’m nicer.  Mr. H. tells me not to be a “hooker” when I’m being mean.  He is correct, I should not act like a hooker.  (Hooker means B***C so ya know.)  I can recognize the truth when it’s spoken.  Lately I’ve not been told that my behavior resembles one of those, and that seems like a good sign.

As far as Crohn’s, diet, and food stuff, the husband is having trouble with everything so we have decided to take a more Sally Fallon approach to eating.  We are not doing gluten or refined sugars, but we have re-incorporated raw milk.  We will never eat processed foods or anything, we are just trying to eat real, healthy, traditional foods.  With that in mind expect to see some new recipes coming up.  I’ve been practically living in the kitchen lately.

IMG_0997Crispy nuts from Nourishing Traditions

IMG_0999

After Dub had his recent check-up the doc told me he could use a little more fat in his diet.  I’m like “Whaaaaaa?”  We live on fat.  But okay, a challenge?  Bring it.  This was right on the tails of reading Nourishing Traditions Book of Baby and Childcare in its entirety in just over 3 days.  I told you I’ve had time.  Fat will not be a problem.  I’ve proceeded to make everything fattening, nourishing, and good for a baby’s brain that you can fathom.  Not the least of which is goat liver pâté that I will share here soon.  Nailed it.

IMG_0989

I took a few days off from running because it was raining a lot, but I started again today and I think the break was a good thing.  I ran faster and it was easier.  I guess it’s good to take breaks here and there to let your body heal.  I don’t know, I’m new at this.  Mr. H. says he notices a difference in me since I started a few weeks ago.  Physically and mentally I am definitely better.

Oh!  I finally found a gluten-free bread recipe that is like bread!  I’ll share that soon too.  I’ve been making so much awesome food I really don’t know how I’ll be able to share it all.  Do yourself a favor and purchase Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon.  Mr. H. (and my mom) are both visibly annoyed by my almost constant referencing of Sally wisdom.  But I told you, Sally and I are friends.

Now for the recipe.  This contains dairy and egg yolks just so you know.  I told you, we are in limbo.   I love raw dairy so I’d happily live here.

IMG_0991

Berry Ice Cream (From Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon)

2c fresh berries or 10 oz frozen berries (I used 5 oz frozen blueberries and 1c fresh strawberries)

2 egg yolks

1 tbsp arrowroot

2c heavy cream, preferably raw, not ultrapasturized

1/2-3/4c maple syrup (I used just under 1/2c)

Process berries in food processor for several minutes.  Add in egg yolks, cream and arrowroot and process until well blended.  Gradually add maple syrup to taste.  Pour into ice cream maker and process according to instructions.

Do yourself a favor and store this in a shallow container in the freezer.  For some reason I never followed Sally’s advice about this because I didn’t consider how much easier it would be to scoop it out.  Like I said, brilliant.

You can eat this ice cream and feel good about your waistline because you have used real ingredients and your body knows exactly what to do with real food.  This ice cream makes my husband happy, my figure happy, and overall lately I just feel like more of a looker and less of a hooker.

A votre sante!

Leave a Reply

