Greens From The Garden. Baby Changes. Cacao Breakfast Milkshake, Revised.

IMG_0893

First of all, I can’t believe how much Baby Dub has changed in three months.  It’s insane.  I took a picture today and exactly three months ago he looked like a different baby.  Check it.

Then.

IMG_9306

Now.

IMG_0922

Okay, maybe not a different baby, but the hair!  Not only is he crazy mobile now, he “talks” while he busily explores and just searches out trouble in general.  I’ve successfully hidden and obscured the outlets now, so the next step is making sure ALL drawers and cupboards are locked.  I’m always with him, but he is fast, and oh so curious.

As far as nursing goes, it’s strange to realize that he actually might be cutting out some sessions on his own.  Food is becoming a bigger part of his life and a few days ago he learned to drink from a straw, so he is getting a lot down his gullet these days.

IMG_0882

Speaking of drinking from a straw, I have an insane amount of greens from the garden that I need to use while they are fresh and today I made an awesome green smoothie, of which, baby Dub couldn’t get enough.  YAY!  I hadn’t known how to get greens into him before.  Because we did Baby Led Weaning he isn’t stoked on being fed with a spoon (unless it’s a breakfast milkshake, then he’s totally down), and of course he can’t yet just eat them raw.  Green smoothies are the way.  He loves the straw so much he would probably eat a foot through it if he could.  Who am I kidding?  He eats his own feet all the time.

IMG_0924

Since I have a vitamix it’s pretty easy to pulverize greens to where they are super smooth and delicious.  For this smoothie I just added filtered water, ice, a frozen banana, a handful of young kale and spinach, some frozen blueberries, a teaspoon of chia, a couple teaspoons of flax, and boom!  Healthy happy baby.  That plus some roasted sweet potatoes with melted butter and sea salt, and lunch is served.

IMG_0871

That kiwi thought about going in the shake, but decided against it.

Somebody is always close by in case food magically decides to fall from heaven.

IMG_0901

Now, since we stopped drinking milk I have been making the awesome Cacao Breakfast Milkshake a little differently.  In fact, it’s almost exactly as it appears on My New Roots.  It is so amazing and delicious, I have it daily; usually right after a run with my little running partner.

IMG_0863

Cacao Breakfast Milkshake-Revised

1 1/2 c filtered water

3 dates, pitted

1/4c sunflower seeds

1Tbsp grade B maple syrup

1 frozen banana

1 avocado

1Tbsp cacao powder

1Tbsp carob powder*

pinch salt

handful of ice

Add all ingredients to vitamix and blend on high until smooth (about 30 seconds).  Serve and ENJOY!

*I use 1/2 carob powder because I share this with Dub and he doesn’t need the caffeine that is in cacao.  Also, Sally Fallon suggests using carob instead of cacao, and so I half-follow her advice.  She is a genius, so I should completely follow it, but there are so many wonderful nutrients and antioxidants in cacao that I like to get some of that in my shake.

IMG_0861

What a guy.  I love him so much.  So grateful for him, for my wonderful husband, and for this amazing season of sun and fresh produce!  If you haven’t made this shake yet and you like chocolate, please, make it.  It may just change your life.  Not joking.

-Bee

3 thoughts on “Greens From The Garden. Baby Changes. Cacao Breakfast Milkshake, Revised.

    • Thank you! Yeah, I discovered another way last night. Sauteed garlic in a bunch of butter and used that to wilt tons of spinach from the garden. I just bit off the stem before giving it to him and he loved it! If you add enough butter, there really is no chance he could choke; yet another reason to use copious amounts of butter:)

  1. Pingback: It’s Been Too Long, I Suck. Baby Weight, Me. Thrift Store Junkie. Cacao Breakfast Milkshake Final Episode. | Bee Baby Blog

Leave a Reply

