Dairy-Free Roasted Banana Ice Cream. Flowers From The Garden. A New Season Of Inspiration.

IMG_0811

I stumbled upon this little gem of a recipe tonight when I was in a fix and needed something.  Well, I always need something, but lately I’ve been too busy to make dessert.  With the new exercise routine no dessert is no bueno; enter this tasty little treat.

Since abandoning milk (le sigh) I’ve been on the search for a recipe using coconut milk that doesn’t taste like coconut milk.  Mr. H. is satisfied with a chocolate version of Sally Fallon’s vanilla ice cream, found in Nourishing Traditions, but I am not.  The banana in this recipe almost completely masks the coconut flavor, and although I LOVE coconut, I don’t want it for every meal, snack, dessert and second dessert of the day.  I had fully intended to throw in some unsweetened dried coconut to give this some texture but it slipped my mind and I’m glad it did because this doesn’t need anything.  This is banana ice cream, and it is not ashamed.

But before we get to that recipe, I just wanted to share some things that are making me happy.

I’ve mentioned before that we have some friends that have been kind enough to let Mr. H. plant some things on their property.  What I didn’t mention is that they themselves grow a ridiculous amount of food up there, and they are teaching us so much.  Swanson farm is already producing, and it was nothing short of awe-inspiring to see the little tiny seeds Mr. H. dropped into the soil turn into this…

IMG_0740

First of all, everything he is growing this year is heirloom, and he and Mr. S. (OF COURSE) grow organically, so to see these amazing long radishes pushing themselves up and out of the ground was almost like the first time I’d SEEN a vegetable.  I sound loony, I know.  This is hard to explain, but you guys, it’s MIRACULOUS!  Good job evolution (insert snotty sarcasm face).

IMG_0748

Oh the things they are growing!

IMG_0749

In other news, the flowers at home are off the hook and I cannot stop taking pictures of them.  The doors are open and the warm air is rushing through the house and I’m barefoot.  My baby is eating farm fresh foods and I am constantly cutting flowers.  I’m exercising daily and feeling great.  My sister got me a live source B vitamin that gives me an insane amount of energy.  On top of all the other good things (SUN) the B vitamin has me reorganizing and redecorating my house like mad, and in the process of doing that I clean which makes me even happier!  Who doesn’t love a clean, organized, flower-filled, warm, happy home?

IMG_0792

It’s the little things.

IMG_0780

It’s this little thing.

IMG_0755

O-R-G-A-N-I-Z-I-N-G.

IMG_0769

Now, ice cream.

IMG_0808

Dairy-Free Roasted Banana Ice Cream (Adapted from Ari’s Menu)

1Tbsp coconut oil

3 bananas, peeled and sliced

1 can coconut cream (I use the kind from Trader Joes)

1Tbsp maple syrup

pinch of sea salt

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a pan with parchment paper and place sliced bananas close together and drizzle coconut oil over them.  Bake 15-20 minutes.

Place roasted bananas in blender and add coconut cream, maple syrup, and pinch of salt (I used a vitamix, but any blender would do here).  Blend until smooth and place in a bowl and refrigerate at least 2 hours, until thoroughly chilled.  Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

This might have to be my favorite dairy-free ice cream yet.  Enjoy!!

IMG_0797

8 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Roasted Banana Ice Cream. Flowers From The Garden. A New Season Of Inspiration.

  1. I have been seeing recipes for banana ice cream, but haven’t tried it yet. Perhaps sometime soon. Have you tried any of the soy or coconut ice creams on the market? I didn’t find them too bad, as I have up dairy last fall.

    • I used to eat soy ice cream. I used to eat a lot of soy. I am pretty sure soy is one of the worst foods we can eat now, so I would totally do coconut over soy! In fact, if you are an ice cream fiend, I recommend getting a Cuisinart. As of June 2013 they are on sale for $89 at Williams-Sonoma. (WordPress is not letting me add a link here…)
      Since almost ALL the ice creams on the market contain refined sugars, I would just make it yourself. I know an ice cream maker is an investment, but it’s worth it! Also, sugar isn’t just one of those things you should avoid IF you have a digestive issue. Refined sugars have all the minerals processed out of them, so your body reacts as though they are a poison. It’s cray. Happy eating and hopefully ice cream-making!

Leave a Reply

