Raw Chocolate Pie, and My Drug Of Choice.

IMG_0690

I pretty much love chocolate.  A couple of years ago I prefaced every chocolate dessert devour session with “I don’t like chocolate but this looks/is pretty good.”  I suppose I fancied myself more a bread-pudding/fruit crisp/vanilla/or even white chocolate kind of gal.  I still love those things (the healthy versions of those things, and believe me I’m learning to make them all so I can share them here), but chocolate has found a special place in my heart and I’m no longer in denial about it.  No, it’s not my drug of choice.  I’ll get to that.

Yesterday I posted my new favorite blog Nourishing Meals, and appropriately, this recipe is from there.  This is the first healthy dessert that Mr. H. swears tastes UNHEALTHY!  Now, personally I don’t feel that is the goal.  I happen to love the taste of healthy.  However, most people want some sense of familiarity when they indulge.  (Side note: my dad came over recently and I made him the Cacao Breakfast Milkshake that I love and make daily-also I’ve changed a couple of things in it I’ll post those changes soon-and I waited with breath that was baited to hear his astonishment at its deliciousness sans badness and he said “WOW!  THAT tastes healthy.”  RUDE.  Apparently some people can tell when there isn’t death in the ingredient list.  Love you dad.)

IMG_0684

Last weekend for his birthday I sought a different reaction.  I wanted him to trip over how unhealthy a healthy dessert could taste.  I think this pie is a good first step toward converting unbelievers, so I’d like to share it with you.  Also important to note; if you are making the change to healthy foods, real foods, and foods that do not contain any chemicals, then things are going to taste different for a while.  Accept that.  Be cool with that and embrace the change.  My lungs ache every time I run but I KNOW that is a good thing and soon I will be experiencing the benefits of pushing through that initial discomfort.  I will love the running soon.  You too will love what comes from pushing through the “different-ness” of tastes. I’m so excited for us!

IMG_0683

Raw Chocolate Pie (From Nourishing Meals)

Crust:

2c raw pecans (but you can use a mix of almonds and walnuts, or whatever you have on hand)

8-10 medjool dates

1Tbsp virgin coconut oil

1Tbsp cinnamon

pinch ground cardamom (optional, but awesome)

Filling:

1c raw cashew butter *(I just make it on the spot in my food processor; about 2 cups cashews=1c cashew butter)

1 small avocado

1/2c cocoa powder or cacao powder

1/2c grade b maple syrup (they use agave, but I don’t ever because it’s so processed)

1/2c barely melted coconut butter (you can find this at your local health food store, this is NOT coconut oil)

1/4c water

1Tbsp vanilla

IMG_0685

 

(*Have you never made almond/cashew/peanut butter at home before?  Well guess what?  It’s as easy as adding nuts to your food processor and turning it on and letting it run until the natural oils in the nuts are released and it turns to nut butter.  You must start with at LEAST 2 cups of nuts.  Don’t stop it, just let it run.  You may need to scrape down the sides with a spatula, but after a short spell you will have nut butter.)

For the crust: place nuts in food processor and pulse until finely ground.  Add remaining ingredients and pulse until incorporated.  Press crust into the bottom of a pie dish and refrigerate to cool.

Place all ingredients for the filling into the food processor and blend until smooth.  For a thinner filling add a touch more water, but I never do and it turns out great.  Pour filling onto cooled crust and smooth out the top.  Refrigerate for 3-4 hours and serve!

IMG_0686

You are welcome.

My drug of choice?  I have several favorites but today it is warm, the sun is out, and I am hoping beyond hope to overdose on some Vitamin Dizzle.

-Bee

4 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Pie, and My Drug Of Choice.

Leave a Reply

