Frozen Banana Cream Tart with Cocolate Crumble

IMG_0571

This recipe is taken from Simply Gluten Free Magazine and is free of: gluten, grains, dairy, eggs, soy, sugar, and is vegan.

In light of our new ways of eating, everything we eat will be free of gluten and all grains, dairy (unless it is cultured and probiotic), and sugar.  It has been 10 days since my last post and that is just too long.  So much has been happening around here with the return of Mr. H., who spent 7 days in the hospital after his surgery.  I feel for families who have to spend their lives visiting those they love in the hospital.  It was not awesome for me knowing how not awesome it was for Mr. H.  However, he is home now and it has been wonderful being his nurse!

IMG_0526

Along with trying to make sure he doesn’t do too much around here I am charged with fattening him up. He didn’t need to lose weight when he went in to the hospital, but lost about 15lbs anyway.  The rad thing about this way of eating is this: if you need to lose weight you will, and if you need to gain weight you will.  When you eat real food that your body can make sense of, your body will do with it what it needs to in order to balance out your equilibrium.   I like fat.  Real fat is good for you and feeds your blood, bones, and brain.  Don’t shy away from fat because a diet low in healthy fats will cause you to gain weight.

IMG_0525

I am loving the real fat from nuts and oils that make all of these amazing desserts so rich and delicious around here.  Today I will share with you a recipe I found in a Gluten Free magazine that was left for Mr. H. at the hospital while he was sleeping.  Thank you to whomever that was!

IMG_0527

You can use cocoa in this recipe, but because this is a raw pie it is really nice to use raw cacao powder since it hasn’t had all of its wonderful superfood qualities cooked out of it.  It is much more than just the flavor of chocolate, which is all cocoa is.  Your local health food store should carry cacao powder, but if they don’t you can find it here.

IMG_0524

Also, it is great to stock your freezer with raw nuts and seeds of all kinds since they are called for in many healthy recipes.  I am going to do a post on items to have on hand so you can be ready to go when the inspiration to cook and bake comes on.  For me it is pretty constant, and I love not having to run to the store every. single. time. I make something.  I’ve mentioned before that keeping your nuts and seeds in the freezer is important because they can turn rancid quickly if left out.

IMG_0528

This pie is ridiculously easy and fast.  The hard part is waiting for the pie itself to freeze before eating.  Well worth the wait, I promise.

IMG_0530

I encourage you to embrace the idea of real fat and decadent desserts in your life.  Release the bull-honkey that has been poured into your brain for your entire existence by the diet dictocrats, and start to focus on the ingredients in the food you make.  The better each ingredient, the more delightful the end product.  It takes very little to create amazing food when the foods you start with are of the highest quality.  Also, I don’t crave more and more when I eat good food.  It is plenty rich and satisfying after one (or two) servings.  (I tend to eat double portions of sweet treats and it’s working out great for me so far.)

IMG_0532

Frozen Banana Cream Tart with Chocolate Crumble (From Simply Gluten Free)

1/2c raw cashews

1 3/4c raw almonds (I used 1c almonds and 3/4c pecans)

1/4c raw cacao powder (you could use cocoa, which is what the original recipe calls for)

1c packed pitted Medjool dates (do use Medjool, as they are the most delicious and delicate and tasty)

2 tablespoons virgin coconut oil, room temperature

2 large frozen bananas (I always have whole bananas in the freezer just waiting to become a Cacao Breakfast Shake)

1/2c canned coconut milk (full fat)

2 tablespoons Grade B maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Soak the cashews in filtered water a minimum of 3 hours.

In a food processor blend the almonds (and or pecans) until finely ground.  Add the cacao and salt until combined.  Add the dates and coconut oil and process until the dates are well incorporated.  Set aside about 3/4c of this mixture to sprinkle on top of the tart.  Take the remaining mixture and press into the bottom of a pie or tart pan.  Freeze.

You can use your food processor or a high-speed blender for this next part.  I used my vitamix.  Drain and rinse the cashews and put them in your blender with the coconut milk, Grade B maple syrup, and vanilla.  Process for about 30 seconds or until creamy.  Add the frozen banana and process until it is thick and smooth.  You may need to stop and scrape down the sides once or twice.

Pour filling into your frozen crust and crumble remaining crust mixture over the top.  Return to freezer for at least 3 hours or until firm.  It makes a big difference to thaw the tart about 10 minutes prior to serving because when the filling is too frozen it can mask the wonderful flavors.

IMG_0531

Wow your friends with this totally healthy, raw dessert!  Perfect for a warm summer evening.

-Bee

2 thoughts on “Frozen Banana Cream Tart with Cocolate Crumble

  1. This looks awesome! I love what you said about your body knowing what to do with real food in terms of weight. Throughout high school and college I struggled with my weight–it was up, then down, then up again–and the whole time I was eating sugar-free, fat-free, processed “diet food,” obsessing about the scale. After eating real food for a few years (including lots of healthy fats,) my body has found its happy place, and I don’t give a second thought to weight anymore…and it turns out I am naturally thinner than I once thought! Plus, I feel about a thousand times better 🙂
    I’m glad Mr. H is home from the hospital and that you are feeding him lots of good food!

    • Thank you! I know right? I am naturally thinner than I used to think as well, which is a pleasant surprise. It’s so true about real food and I feel about it like many feel about spreading the Word of God. Like, “PEOPLE LISTEN! YOU DON’T NEED TO LIVE LIKE THIS!” You can eat REAL FOOD and DELICIOUS FOODS and feel satisfied for the first time in years. I’m happy for you.

Leave a Reply

