Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free. A Medical Condition To Boot.

IMG_9848

So, wow.  I’m so glad I started this blog so I have witnesses to God’s hand in our lives.  A few posts ago I wrote about Mr. H. and I trying out a new way of eating and I learned how to bake with almond flour and use alternative sugars.  I came to the conclusion that it wasn’t for me because we didn’t have a medical condition to necessitate such extreme changes.  I learned a lot during that few weeks, however, and planned to take some of that learning into the future.  Side note: a couple of years ago I discovered Roost Blog, a lovely little spot on the internet where this girl posts her recipes and gorgeous photos-such perfection that it’s a bit intimidating actually-and her recipes cater to her husband who has Crohn’s disease.  She uses almond flour and other fancy things and I just couldn’t imagine tackling that so I never tried.

Fast forward to last Thursday.

Mr. H. was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease.  What is really interesting about this is that instead of being terrified we were inspired.  I immediately thought of that woman’s blog and so alongside researching Crohn’s, I poured over her recipes.  I discovered that since I had taken on cooking and baking with alternative grains and sugars recently I completely understand what I’m doing now and feel perfectly comfortable taking on these new adventures in the kitchen.  That is, assuming diet has something to do with healing the gut.  Our doctor is brilliant, but he doesn’t think diet plays a role here.  I’m confused by this, but I’m not a doctor and I mean that in the least snotty way.  It’s very me to be sarcastic, but I’m not being that right now.  There is so much I don’t know, and it feels good to admit it.  What’s super rad is that God set us up for this.  He prepared us.

IMG_9823(Our amazing friends are allowing us to plant our food on their land this year!)

Crohn’s disease.  I don’t know a ton about it, but from what I understand it is when one’s immune system turns on itself.  Something to do with a specific protein being read by the body as bad when it’s really good and then the bowel and colon turn into hot lava and bad things happen.  It’s highly uncomfortable, inconvenient and even painful.  Left untreated Mr. H. is at increased risk for developing cancer, and most certainly will need surgery at some point.  We are all hippied out and give birth our babies at home and stuff, but we’re not messing around here so Mr. H. will be put on meds to get his condition under control, and once that happens (alongside dietary changes of course) we will attempt to manage it through a healthy diet and lifestyle.

IMG_9812

IMG_9814

IMG_9816

IMG_9822

I’ve been having a wonderful time in the kitchen learning awesome new techniques.  I’ve re-upped the water kefir, started making beet kvass (which is the number one gut healing food/beverage you can consume), started making ghee, dairy-free ice cream, the most amazing donuts, and the list goes on.

I’m honored to take this on and make food even more enjoyable and exciting around here.  We are looking into super-ancient, un-hybridized grains just to see if they might work in our new food plan, but if not we will be perfectly happy with almond and coconut flour.  Honey, grade B maple syrup, and dates are perfect sweeteners.  Some goats milk cheese should be okay.  For some reason realizing you have to cut out certain things just opens up a whole world of better things.  Can’t wait to share as I go.

As a side note, I’ve been learning a ton about wheat, and dudes, it’s bad.  It’s bad-bad.  Wheat as you know it today is not the wheat ancient peoples survived on.  It certainly isn’t prepared properly, and it appears way too frequently in our ‘merican diet.  I encourage you to do your own research.  Don’t just jump on the gluten-free bandwagon because that’s generally not about health anyway.  Read Wheat Belly.

I’m glad we are learning so much now because we can make sure Weston eats the best foods he can to avoid getting Crohn’s himself.  It is hereditary so all these new changes apply to him as well, sweet babe.

IMG_9831

Prepare for the healthiest recipes yet.  Life is pretty crazy, and amazingly, we feel more blessed than ever.

-Bee

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free. A Medical Condition To Boot.

  1. I’m sorry about the Crohn’s diagnosis, but that’s great that you are inspired! My husband cannot eat gluten or dairy (and I’ve found that added sugars upset my stomach,) and I do find it to be kind of an exciting challenge to create good, clean, healthy recipes that we can both enjoy! Best of luck to you!

    • That’s great that you feel that way too! It really is healthier to focus on simple foods anyway so how could it be a bad thing to have to make some changes? Thanks for your comment, I hope to post some of these new awesome recipes very soon:)

Leave a Reply

