Cloth Diapering Part 3: Caring For Cloth.

IMG_9912

Until we get to using our vintage potty chair that I bought at a swap meet when I was three months pregnant (not considering the issue of sanitation-oh pregnancy), I will be dealing with diapers.  Somehow having cloth makes a thankless job a little more enjoyable.  (Note:  I will absolutely be purchasing a Bjorn Potty Seat when baby Dub graduates to that joyous phase of nudity and frequent bathroom visits.

I do diaper laundry every 2 to 3 days.  I keep dirty diapers in a garbage pail with a wetbag and no cover.  I don’t cover it because as-per Green Mountain Diaper’s recommendation, allowing the air to circulate in conjunction with using Bac-out (live enzyme stain fighter and odor attacker) on each diaper really does keep it from smelling.

IMG_9916

IMG_9923

When I go to do the laundry I take the whole bag and invert it into our GE front load washing machine and use 1/2 the recommended amount of Country Save Detergent.  (Important to use the powder not the liquid for cloth diapers.)  I wash it on sanitary with a 2nd rinse, and when it’s finished washing I transfer all prefolds, inserts, and wipes to the dryer and take all covers and pocket diapers and hang them on my drying rack.  Not machine drying really extends the life of your diapers and ensures you can use them for future babies.  Drying them is okay if you are in a pinch of course, and before the first use to seal the PUL.

Note: caring for wool is entirely different than other diaper covers.  You must only wash wool when it becomes soiled or every few weeks if used often.  It has anti-microbial properties and is just basically a super-hero material.  I soak my wool with wool wash, in the sink, in tepid water, and with a pea sized portion of lanolin.  There are videos all over the internet demonstrating proper wool care.  Maybe I’ll make one too in the future.

IMG_9917

When I was pregnant and plotting my diaper routine, I imagined that I would always have my baby’s diapers stuffed and ready to go, but instead I just leave them on the drying rack and pluck them up and stuff them as needed.  It works.  (Side note: the Bee of 10 years ago would probably have DIED to know she would someday trade in her guitar toting-cool girl-city life for a small piece of land and the honor of being wife and mother.  That Bee was dumb, but, we’ve already covered that.)

IMG_9915

Sometimes I spray Dub’s bottom with a diluted Kissaluvs lotion potion concentrate…

IMG_9924

Sometimes for overnight to protect his bum I use this…

IMG_9925

I make my diaper wipe solution out of water, a teaspoon of Dr. Bronner’s, a few drops of Tea Tree and then either lavender oil or eucalyptus.  Mixing it up keeps things interesting (20-something Bee is judging me hard core right now).

IMG_9927

That’s it.  That’s my wash/care routine.  I have yet to need to strip the microfiber inserts so if I do that I’ll share how it goes.

Obviously I would recommend using cloth to just about anyone.  It’s not hard at all, and it’s good for your baby, and your budget.

🙂

3 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering Part 3: Caring For Cloth.

  1. “Side note: the Bee of 10 years ago would probably have DIED to know she would someday trade in her guitar toting-cool girl-city life for a small piece of land and the honor of being wife and mother. That Bee was dumb, but, we’ve already covered that.” SAME HERE!
    Great post too. 😉

Leave a Reply

