Cloth Diapering Part 1 of 3: Why Cloth?

IMG_9784

I had an insane amount of information written about this and was still overwhelmed as to how to get everything I know about cloth diapering out of my brain and onto a blog post when Mr. H. suggested that I write this in three parts. Brilliant.  I’m going to take it a step further and not tell you everything I know about cloth diapers.  I’m going to keep this basic because you don’t need to know what I know.  I don’t know how you came across this blog or this post but it is possible you are reading this by accident and want nothing to do with poopy diapers.  I hear that.  Or maybe you are just curious why in this day and age anyone would want to subject themselves to rinsing off poop and then having to wash poopy laundry by choice.  I hear that as well.  I am going to tell you why I chose to cloth diaper, and why a lot of other parents are starting to do the same.

It wasn’t the planet that inspired me to look into cloth diapering.  Although I find it troubling that an average of 27 billion disposable diapers are used every YEAR in the U.S. and that 92% of those go into landfills, I still don’t care too much about being green for green’s sake.  Still, that is a lot chemicals getting into the soil, not to mention fecal matter.  Did you know that you are supposed to dump fecal matter into the toilet before disposing of your sposie?  Most people don’t do it.  If you take the time to think about how much untreated crap is getting put into landfills every single year, it’s hard not to be alarmed.

IMG_9782

Aside from all that, there is the issue of the moisture leeching chemicals contained within the diaper.  Did you know that all the most popular brands of sposies (that is cloth diaper speak for disposable) contain a chemical banned from feminine hygiene products for causing toxic shock syndrome in women?  It’s cool to put it near your brand new baby’s skin 24 hours a day though.  I mean, it really soaks up that moisture; elevated genital temperatures and questionable long-term effects be damned.  Right?

Why else would you choose cloth?  They are cute darnit.  Stinkin’ cute.  Yes, I do always care about the outfit.

IMG_9805

A common misconception about cloth diapering is that it’s gross and that there is tons of extra laundry.  Not so.  I do two loads of diaper laundry a week, and I don’t wash them twice each time.  It really is quite simple and you can feel good about using cloth for so many reasons.  Seriously, unpronouncable chemicals against your sweet babe’s skin.  Skin is the largest organ in the body.  Tests show the presence of spf chemicals in the bloodstream just moments after being put on a baby’s skin.  It’s no different just because it’s contained within a diaper.  As far as it being gross, we purchased a diaper sprayer that attaches to the toilet, and we just spray the poop off right there.  I’ll get to that in my “how” post.

Also, I don’t have blowout issues with cloth.  With sposies I deal with dirty clothes almost every time Dub poops.  I don’t know how people do it.  If I do use a disposable, like out of the country or something, I have to put a diaper cover over it just in case.

IMG_9791

Money is usually a deterrent since there is the initial investment of a few hundred dollars.  That is hard to spend on diapers.  However, the average cost of disposables from birth to potty training is about $2,500.  Average.  I feel like no one should ever mention the cost issue again.  Seriously, I have my Carrie Bradshaw raised eyebrow/perplexed/exasperated face on right now.

Anyway, no judgy (coincidentally I procured that phrase from Carrie B’s gay boyfriend on the show, what was his name again?) I swear, I’m simply posting this because I would have loved to stumble upon this information when I was prego.

I went through this phase shortly after Weston was born where I really wanted cute prints on his diapers.  This was a departure from my pre-baby “everything is going to be beige; I will NOT allow my house to become a rainbow just because I have a baby” attitude.  I received the patterned dipes (more cloth diaper speak) and immediately got over them.  Still, they are kinda cute.

IMG_9783

I’ll stop now.  Oh but wait, here is Dub with his two current obsessions appearing in the same photo!  What is it about babies and vacuums??   Thor didn’t want to stick around; the obsession is a little unrequited, unfortunately.

IMG_9807

Yeah, so there.  Despite what you’ve been told you don’t have to wash your hands with poop every time you change a cloth diaper.

Next up part 2 and 3.

6 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering Part 1 of 3: Why Cloth?

  1. Awesome post!! I look forward to 2 & 3! 🙂
    I had no idea about the chemicals, and isn’t that something that you are supposed to get the poop off of a sposie before throwing it away?! O_O Yikes.
    I don’t have blowouts with cloth – ever!! And we always did when using disposables. Not cool. I do two loads a week of cloth as well, which is not a big deal at all.
    Oh, and I so need one of those drying rack things you have pictured! I use hangers as it is.

  2. Oh using hangers is a good idea! I got that rack at Walmart:( Sinful, but cheap! Yeah, crazy no one disposes of diaper contents properly. That’s awesome you cloth diaper, I am so glad I chose to use cloth!

  3. Pingback: Ten Thoughts Tuesday ~ May 7 | Atlantamomofthree

    • I hope these posts help! If you have any questions at all feel free to ask here in the comments and I will get back to you. It really is so easy to use cloth, and oddly, even a little fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

