Sprouted Grass-Fed Butter Shortbread Cookies. Happiness Is A Warm Cookie…

IMG_9292

…or a room temperature cookie.  Honestly, if I don’t overdo it on these cookies (not possible) I might just want to have something about them on my gravestone.  Better yet, my last meal.  Maybe I don’t know when my last meal will BE my last meal, so I should just name one of my children after them.  Too much?  I think not.  I also think not that butter is fattening.  What I’m saying is, grass-fed butter is something I eat so stinkin’ much that according to the diet dictocrats I should be a lard ass but I’m not.  I certainly. am. not.  So where is the disconnect here?  I’ve actually taken to telling people that grass-fed butter makes you lose weight.  No, I don’t know if it’s true, but I think it is.  Before Mexico my mom and sis and I were shopping for bathing suits at Nordstrom (side note: I normally buy my swimwear from TJ Maxx and Forever 21 because I’m not exactly flush with scrilla, but holy COW the difference in quality was astounding), and I told the girl helping us that grass-fed butter makes you lose weight with such authority that I’m sure she ran out and ate a cube of it for lunch.

That’s what you should do too.  Just sayin’.  Mr. H. actually has put me on a butter budget.  Not kidding. He has had me break down exactly the number of desserts I need each week to keep me out of the loony bin, and then figure out exactly how much money I can spend on butter each month based on that number.  No more.  I don’t put refined sugar in my stuff so if you are thinking “Well, if she isn’t fat and she eats that many sweets then maybe she is just one of those skinny-fat people” then you are wrong because refined sugar is bad bad so I don’t mess with it.  Sally says (Sally Fallon, we are on a first name basis) that one must, of course, be balanced here.  Limit it to one dessert a week or so.  I feel that just doubling that number fits for me.  Not too much more, just double.

So, in the previous recipe we sprouted wheat berries.  Or you just have a bag of sprouted flour because you are one of the lucky ones who’s store carries such a gem.  Now, with the addition of real mineral sea salt, grass-fed butter, and a natural sugar of your choice you have all you need to make these amazing, FREAKING AMAZING cookies.

Here we go.  What you will need:

(I found this recipe on Cheeseslaveand normally I change a few things in a recipe, but this one didn’t need it.  I love that she uses real ingredients, and that finally, I knew exactly how thick to make shortbread because this recipe uses a springform pan.  I only changed the flour, and chose coconut sugar.)

-1.5c sprouted wheat flour

-1/2c all purpose flour (I use organic that I keep in the fridge.  I find that just that small amount of all purpose flour helps these cookies to hold their shape)

-2/3c unrefined sugar (I use coconut sugar, but I have used rapadura in shortbread a lot and love the way it mixes with recipes that contain a lot of butter)

-8oz grass-fed butter, very cold (I single-handedly keep Trader Joes open with my alloted monthly allowance for butter)

-1/4 tsp real salt

-1 springform pan

-a shot glass, or other small round glass or cookie cutter

Preheat oven to 425.  In a food processor combine the flours, salt, and sugar.  Cut butter into small-ish cubes (I cut a one lb block of butter into 5 or so chunks).  Add butter one piece at a time and process until your flour has the ability to stick together when pinched.  This won’t take long.  I even leave some larger chunks of butter for extra flakiness.

IMG_9275

Here is the all purpose flour I use.

IMG_9276

Dump into your springform pan and press with your fingers until it is spread out.  I then take the bottom of a bucket glass and smooth it out.  Reduce oven temperature to 300 and bake for 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool a few minutes.  Now remove the ring from the pan and press your small glass or cookie cutter into the center to create a ring.

IMG_9287

Score your masterpiece into 16 wedges but don’t cut all the way through yet.

IMG_9288

Now, pretty much all shortbread calls for docking, or poking holes in the cookie but I don’t find that the butter needs this vehicle by which to release it’s steam.  I’ve never ended up with a puffy cookie due to the lack of docking, which leads me to believe it is more of a tradition than a necessity.  I don’t do it.  Rebel.

Pop your cookies back in the oven for another 40 minutes.

IMG_9289

I would definately put a cookie sheet underneath to catch butter drippings.  It happens.  Then you eat them of course.  Wait for them to cool for about five minutes and then complete the cuts you started earlier.  It’s best to let these cool for about one hour, but let’s be honest, it’s hard not to damn the torpedoes and just burn your mouth on them.

Once your cookies are finished you take a million pictures of them, but it takes so long that somehow 16 wedges plus a round becomes 9.  It’s not embarrassing.  I’m serious, I’m proud.

IMG_9296

If you are lucky, you can share these cookies with people so they will think you are a master in the kitchen.  I’ve never done that but plan to when I make a triple batch.  I just can’t stand the thought of letting any go just yet.  I may or may not have called Mr. H. at work, crying, asking him if he took the last cookie in his lunch.  Maybe that happened.  Enjoy.

-Bee

6 thoughts on “Sprouted Grass-Fed Butter Shortbread Cookies. Happiness Is A Warm Cookie…

  1. I may or may not have been one of the lucky ones to try one of these little pieces pf heaven. I told Jae that one of these days, I am going to offer to pay you to make these for me on a weekly basis. And speaking of grass-fed butter … I am now a proud owner (eater) of it!! I LOVE these darn cookies. I’m not sure I’m ready to attempt making them myself. For now I will pray that Jae wants to share the love 🙂

    • That is rad. I’m so glad you like the cookies, and that you eat grass-fed butter! My sis is coming over today and I asked her to go to Trader Joe’s on her way and grab me some butter. 5 lbs. She was like “Wait, so you want HOW MUCH??” I said, “Yeah, 5 individual pounds of unsalted butter.” She was like “HOLY &%$&%*#!” Haha. It’s a special week since I have “thank you” cookies to bake. I like it when people like what I make, so I see cookies in your future Kelsey.

  2. Bee. Seriously. I live right down the road from you… I MUST come over and learn some skillZ from you in the kitchen. We can start with these… Ahem 🙂 I am adoring your blog. I never read blogs, but you are so wonderful, and honest, and witty… I’m truly enjoying it! So fruitful and full of information too! (Remind me to never, EVER, let you in my kitchen. You would probably have a heart attack just looking at the shit we eat… Heh heh). That being said, while I’m no chef and I certainly don’t have the time to quickly become one, I truly would like to be a bird on your shoulder while you cook and bake, so that I might learn to make one or two healthier things in this household of mine 🙂 What can I say, you are inspiring, and I believe I would have been just like that girl in Nordstrom (who I definitely think went out and ate a cube of grass fed butter because of you)! I have another six weeks off of work until I have to get back to it (waaaaaaah) so let’s meet up a couple times before then, please? Xoxo

    • Oh you are too sweet! Well, if you aren’t yet a pro in the kitchen you most certainly have talents I aspire to and think of often, not the least of which is your amazing knack for decorating and style. I would be thrilled to teach you a few things because the truth is, I know only a few things, but the things I know can be so widely applied they really can change your life! Let’s plan something, and I want to hold that beautiful baby of yours!!

  3. Love your writing! And I must bake these coockies asap.
    Please help a Norwegian reader:
    -I presume “c.” means cup? Approx. how much volume/weight is in the cup you use?
    -why do you use all purpose flour (wheat?), if this gives possible tummy aces/”allergies” etc., why not use only the sprouted flour?
    Very grateful for your reply
    Best regards, H.

    • I don’t use a scale, but yes c is for cup! Where was I using all purpose flour? I do use it, albeit very rarely. I have a bag of local all purpose flour in my fridge properly stored so it doesn’t go rancid. As Sally Fallon says, there are rare instances when a dish cannot be made properly without the use of all purpose flour; such is the case with pie crusts and certain pastries. As far as using whole wheat flour, the only time I would use that is when I can’t get to the store and I don’t have any sprouted whole wheat (or spelt, kamut, etc) on hand. It would be me being lazy, but with the full knowledge and confession that I am making an exception to my own rule. I’ve spent a lot of my life living in the very extremes, and totally believe in balance. Like, sometimes I’m not perfect:) Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

