Let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

woo-7

The new beginning, anyway.  I’m starting this blog on Valentine’s Day, and I have just recently stopped cussing.  I reference cussing as ‘cuss’ because I view it as it’s own language-it’s own awesome language that I miss terribly.  It’s appropriate that I am starting to document my journey now because a) the journey began because of love, and b) I can be a little more palatable now that I don’t have the mouth of a sailor.

I’ve hesitated to document my life thus far for several reasons, however lately I’ve kind of mastered being awesome, and I figure it’s just rude to deprive everyone of following along.  I’m not going to get into the details of anything right now, like for example, I make some serious exceptions when it comes to not cussing, and exactly how I am awesome will have to wait (and may not be true by the time I get around to explaining it), but I will explain it.

This first post is meant only to tell you how I got here, on the internet, ready to tell all in an effort to help other new moms figure out how to do stuff.  Now, I feel pretty good about a few things right now, but for the most part I struggle to just get by with house cleaning and keeping the baby happy.  I have a long way to go.  Long, as evidenced by the fact that I am writing a post right now instead of putting the johnny jump up away, which will really screw with my type A personality husband when he gets home, but that’s okay.  Why?  Because he loves me, and because it’s gosh darn V-day.

I hope to do several things with this blog.  I would like to document my journey into motherhood by sharing all of the crap I did to be as natural as possible, and also share with you some of my mistakes, and challenges.  I found a lot of helpful information all scattered about the internet as I tried to research cloth diapers, home birth, vaccines, etc., but I would have really loved to find more information in one place.

This all started when I married my best friend.  Up until that really awesome decision I had made a startling number of bad decisions and was almost 30 with absolutely nothing going for me.  I am tempted to enumerate here but I want this blog to be kid friendly (or semi).  So there you have it, use your imagination.

Shortly after getting married I started to realize that I wasn’t very healthy.  No, it wasn’t the many cigarettes I smoked each day that concerned me.  It was my gut.  I needed to cleanse and I mean not just a 10 day juice cleanse, like a serious lifestyle cleanse.  So I started getting colonics.  I stopped eating refined sugar and I began sprouting grains and making them into bread.  I abandoned my sourdough starter and beautiful artisan loaves for flatter, denser, more easily digested ones.  I started to eat locally, and most importantly I began to really look at our food system.

woo-3

That is one aspect of this story.  The next is the baby.  Just over one year after getting married we got pregnant and I knew that, like food, the system that is in place to pump out babies is just not for me.  So I began to research how to do it differently, and discovered there is a movement happening.  There is a movement away from the surgical birth/formula feeding trend that has occupied the last couple of decades (half century?), toward the ‘old ways’, for lack of a better term.  How have we survived for so long without all the intervention, both in food and in birth?  (Yeah, I’m not a dummy, I know that western medicine RULES for a lot of things, and I know that intervention is necessary, and I get that it saves lives and stuff.  Take a pill.  Haha, see?  Awesome.)  I knew that what must be driving food production was money.  It felt the same as I entered into the world of preparing to have a baby, so I needed to try and get away from that.  Sometimes the very best thing we can do is not do anything at all (ie; turn real food into scary science experiments, and intervene at every turn during a woman’s labor).

So I’ve learned some things.  My baby is almost 6 months old and I know an insane amount of stuff about cloth diapering, home birth, baby wearing devices, baby stuff in general, and REAL FOOD/SLOW FOOD/BACK TO BASICS cooking and baking.  What do I know most though, now that I’m a mom?  That I know nothing at all and that all my opinions are crap because every single day since becoming a parent I EAT CROW.  Regardless, I’m still going to show/share everything I have learned so far.  Hold on to your asses.  (Ass isn’t cuss, they say it on the radio).

-Bee

Leave a Reply

